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Designing the Right Bonus Plan for Your Business

Today’s employees have a wealth of information at their fingertips and many distractions competing for their attention. Maintaining focus and productivity can be challenging.

One proven lever for promoting engagement is a performance-based bonus plan. When carefully structured, these plans acknowledge individual contributions while accelerating the company toward its strategic goals. However, if not optimally designed, bonuses can backfire — feeding worker frustration and wasting resources. That’s why the right approach is essential.

What are the goals?

The first step in creating an effective employee bonus plan is to set specific and reasonable strategic goals that inspire employees and improve your business’s financial performance. They should be tied to metrics that describe intended operational improvements, such as:

  • Increased sales or profits,

  • Enhanced customer retention, or

  • Reduced waste.

Structure the bonus plan so that staff members’ priorities and performance goals align with the company’s strategic goals, as well as the purpose of their respective positions. Employee goals must also be specific and measurable. You may allow some workers to set “stretch” goals that require them to exceed normally expected performance levels. But don’t permit anything so difficult that an employee will likely get discouraged and give up.

It often makes sense to also set departmental goals. This way, team members can better see how their work, both individually and as a group, propels progress toward company goals. For example, the bonuses of assembly line workers at a manufacturing plant could be tied to limiting unit rejects to no more than 1%. This, in turn, would directly relate to the business’s strategic goal of reducing overall waste by 5%.

How can you do it right?

A well-structured bonus plan should do more than set employees on a “side quest” to earn more money. Ideally, it needs to educate and inspire them to think more like business owners seeking to grow the company rather than workers earning a paycheck.

For starters, keep it simple. Sometimes, bonus plans get so complicated that employees struggle to understand what they must do to receive their awards. Design a straightforward plan that clearly explains all the details. Write it in plain language so both leadership and staff have something to refer to if confusion arises.

Also, seek balance when calculating bonus amounts. This can be tricky: A bonus that’s too small won’t provide adequate motivation, while an amount that’s too large could cause cash flow issues or even jeopardize the bottom line. Many businesses structure their incentive arrangements as profit-sharing plans, so payouts are based directly on the company’s profitability.

Make the plan flexible, too, by adjusting it as business conditions change. For instance, you might tweak your bonus plan when you update your company’s strategic goals at year end. But don’t set goals that are too open-ended. Measure both strategic and individual goals on a consistent schedule with firm starting and ending dates. Companies generally track goals quarterly or annually.

Finally, consider allowing the highest achievers to reap the biggest rewards. In many businesses, salespeople have the biggest impact on the company’s overall performance. If that’s the case for your business, perhaps your sales team should be able to earn the highest amounts.

Who can help?

A thoughtfully designed bonus plan can align employee efforts with company priorities while supporting long-term growth. Let FMD help you create one that motivates employees, safeguards your bottom line, and keeps your business in full compliance with the tax and accounting rules.


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How often should your Business Issue Financial Statements?

For decades, quarterly financial reporting has provided the cornerstone for fair, efficient and well-functioning markets. However, President Trump recently posted on social media that public companies should move to semiannual financial reporting. He believes changing the frequency would lower compliance costs and allow management to focus less on meeting short-term earnings targets and more on building long-term value. But critics say less frequent reporting could result in information gaps and increased market volatility.

While no changes have been made to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission’s (SEC’s) filing requirements, Trump’s statement reignites the debate over how often companies should issue their financials. While his post centered on public companies, reporting frequency can also be an important issue for private companies, particularly in today’s uncertain markets.

From Wall Street to Main Street

The SEC requires public companies to file annual reports on Form 10-K and quarterly reports on Form 10-Q on an ongoing basis. The quarterly requirement, in place since 1970, was designed to promote transparency and strengthen investor confidence.

Private companies aren’t required to follow SEC rules, so most issue financial statements only at year end. More frequent reporting is usually discretionary, but it can sometimes be a smart idea. For example, a large private business might decide to issue quarterly statements if it’s considering a public offering or thinking about merging with a public company. Or a business that’s in violation of its loan covenants or otherwise experiencing financial distress may decide to (or be required to) issue more frequent reports.

Midyear assessment

Financial statements present a company’s financial condition at one point in time. When companies report only year-end results, investors, lenders and other stakeholders are left in the dark until the next year. Sometimes, they may want more frequent “snapshots” of financial performance.

Whether quarterly, semiannual or monthly, interim financial statements can provide advanced notice of financial distress due to the loss of a major customer, significant uncollectible accounts receivable, fraud or other circumstances. They also might confirm that a turnaround plan appears successful or that a start-up has finally achieved profits.

Management can benefit from interim reporting, too. Benchmarking interim reports against the same period from the prior year (or against budgeted figures) can help ensure your company meets its financial goals for the year. If your company is underperforming, it may call for corrective measures to improve cash flow and/or updated financial forecasts.

Quality matters

While interim reporting may provide some insight into a company’s year-to-date performance, it’s important to understand the potential shortcomings of these reports. This can help minimize the risk of year-end surprises.

First, unless an outside accounting firm reviews or audits your interim statements, the amounts reported may not conform to U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). Absent external oversight, they may contain mistakes and unverified balances and exclude adjustments for accounting estimates, missing transactions and footnote disclosures. Moreover, leaders with negative news to report may be tempted to artificially inflate revenue and profits in interim reports.

When reviewing interim reports, outside stakeholders may ask questions to assess the skills of accounting personnel and the adequacy of year-to-date accounting procedures. Some may even inquire about the journal entries external auditors made to adjust last year’s preliminary numbers to the final results. This provides insight into potential adjustments that would be needed to make the interim numbers conform to GAAP. Journal entries often recur annually, so a list of adjusting journal entries can help identify which accounts your controller or CFO has the best handle on.

In addition, interim reporting can sometimes be misleading for seasonal businesses. For example, if your business experiences operating peaks and troughs throughout the year, you can’t multiply quarterly profits by four to reliably predict year-end performance. For seasonal operations, it might make more sense to compare last year’s monthly (or quarterly) results to the current year-to-date numbers.

Digging deeper

If interim statements reveal irregularities, stakeholders might ask your company to hire a CPA firm to conduct agreed-upon procedures. These procedures target high-risk account balances or those previously adjusted by auditors.

Agreed-upon procedures engagements may give your stakeholders greater confidence in your interim results. For instance, agreed-upon procedures reports can help identify sources for any irregularities, evaluate your company’s ability to service debt and address concerns that management could be cooking the books.

Find your reporting rhythm

Currently, public companies must issue financial reports each quarter. However, private companies generally have more discretion over how often they issue reports and the level of assurance provided. What’s appropriate for your situation depends on various factors, including your company’s resources, management’s needs and the expectations of outside stakeholders. Contact FMD for more information about reporting interim results, evaluating midyear concerns and conducting agreed-upon procedures.


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Is your Company’s Pricing Strategy still Viable?

Pricing is among the most powerful levers for business owners to calibrate their companies’ profitability. Set prices too low and you risk leaving money on the table. Set them too high and customers may pass you by for cheaper competitors.

Your continuous objective should be to find that sweet spot where prices are competitive while supporting your profit margins and long-term growth. Trouble is, that sweet spot tends to move around a lot — so you must regularly reevaluate your pricing strategy.

Crunching the numbers

To get started, crunch some numbers. Use your financial statements to determine whether your current prices cover both direct costs (such as labor and materials) and indirect costs (such as overhead and administrative expenses).

Monitoring costs is critical — especially given today’s economic volatility. Rising expenses related to suppliers, vendors or labor can quickly erode margins if prices remain static. Regularly reviewing the relationship between expenses and pricing helps ensure adjustments are proactive rather than reactive.

Another useful step is calculating your breakeven point. This metric tells you how many units you must sell at a given price to cover all costs without incurring a loss. Sales beyond the breakeven point will generate a profit. It’s a good starting point for assessing whether current sales volumes align with your existing pricing strategy.

Also, benchmark pricing in relation to your industry and market. Monitor what competitors are charging and compare their prices to yours. A major differential, whether higher or lower, could hurt sales and your business’s reputation if you can’t reasonably rationalize the difference.

Listening to customers

Negative customer behavior is another indication that your pricing strategy may be suboptimal. Are customers constantly pushing back on price, whether during the sales process or when interacting with customer service? If so, you might want to modulate prices slightly lower. On the other hand, if sales are flowing through the pipeline unusually fast, with little resistance, it could mean your prices are too low.

Consider customer segmentation as well. This is a process by which you divide your customer base into smaller groups with common characteristics, allowing you to tailor pricing to each group. For example, some customers might be willing to pay a premium for faster service or customized solutions. Customer segmentation can provide cleaner, more useful data that fuels better decision-making.

Adjusting cautiously

If a thorough analysis reveals your profit margins are too thin, you may want to raise prices. But proceed with caution. Perhaps increase the price of one or two strong sellers and closely monitor the impact. If sales remain steady, you’re probably on the right track — remember, even a subtle price increase can boost profitability. Conversely, if sales suffer, you may need to rethink your pricing strategy.

When raising prices, it’s imperative to communicate clearly with customers. Explain why you’re doing it in plain language, focusing on value. Highlight what makes your business different and better than the competition in areas such as quality, expertise and service. Customers are often willing to pay more provided they understand the value they’re getting for their money.

Of course, there may also be instances when you choose to lower prices — perhaps for a limited time or even indefinitely. In such cases, customer communication is equally important. More than likely, you’ll want to “shout from the rooftops” that you’re lowering prices. Develop a marketing initiative that effectively communicates this message while covering the details.

Getting some help

In today’s roller coaster economy, a viable pricing strategy requires ongoing analysis. Regularly review your margins, assess the market, and align prices with your business’s strategic objectives and customer values. Interested in some objective guidance? FMD can help you analyze costs, apply the right metrics and optimize prices based on current market dynamics.


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Don’t Let Beneficiary Designations Thwart your Estate Plan

For many individuals, certain assets bypass their wills or trusts and are transferred directly to loved ones through beneficiary designations. These nonprobate assets may include IRAs and certain employer-sponsored retirement accounts, life insurance policies, and some bank and brokerage accounts. This means that if you aren’t careful with your beneficiary designations, some of your assets might not be distributed as you expected. Not only does this undermine your intentions, but it can also create unnecessary conflict and hardship among surviving family members.

3 steps

Here are three steps to help ensure your beneficiary designations will align with your estate planning goals:

1. Name a primary beneficiary and a contingent beneficiary. Without a contingent beneficiary for an asset, if the primary beneficiary dies before you — and you don’t designate another beneficiary before you die — the asset will end up in your general estate and may not be distributed as you intended. In addition, certain assets are protected from your creditors, which wouldn’t apply if they were transferred to your estate. To ensure that you control the ultimate disposition of your wealth and protect that wealth from creditors, name both primary and contingent beneficiaries and don’t name your estate as a beneficiary.

2. Reconsider beneficiaries to reflect changing circumstances. Designating a beneficiary isn’t a “set it and forget it” activity. Failure to update beneficiary designations to reflect changing circumstances creates a risk that you’ll inadvertently leave assets to someone you didn’t intend to benefit, such as an ex-spouse.

It’s also important to update your designation if the primary beneficiary dies, especially if there’s no contingent beneficiary or if the contingent beneficiary is a minor. Suppose, for example, that you name your spouse as the primary beneficiary of a life insurance policy and name your minor child as the contingent beneficiary. If your spouse dies while your child is still a minor, it may be advisable to name a new primary beneficiary — such as a trust — to avoid the complications associated with leaving assets to a minor (court-appointed guardianship, etc.). Note that there are many nuances to consider when deciding to name a trust as a beneficiary.

3. Take government benefits into account. If a loved one depends on Medicaid or other government benefits — for example, a disabled child — naming that person as primary beneficiary of a retirement account or other asset may render him or her ineligible for those benefits. A better approach may be to establish a special needs trust for your loved one and name the trust as beneficiary.

Avoiding unintentional outcomes

Not paying proper attention to beneficiary designations can also expose your estate to costly delays and legal disputes. If a listed beneficiary is no longer living, or if a designation is vague or incomplete, an asset may have to go through probate, which defeats the purpose of naming beneficiaries in the first place.

This can increase expenses, delay distributions and create stress for your family during an already difficult time. Carefully making beneficiary designations and regularly reviewing and updating them helps ensure your asset distributions align with your current wishes, helps prevent disputes, and helps protect your family from unintended financial complications. Contact FMD with questions regarding your estate plan.


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What Every Business Owner Should Know About Data Hygiene

When you read the word “hygiene,” you may immediately think about the importance of washing your hands or brushing your teeth. But there’s another use of the term that every business owner should know: data hygiene.

This refers to the ongoing process of ensuring that the information your company relies on is accurate, complete, consistent and up to date. Whether customer contact info, financial records or vendor agreements, data that isn’t wholly clean puts your business at risk of making poor decisions and costly mistakes.

Specific harms

How can dirty data harm your company? For starters, inaccurate or outdated information can lead to billing mistakes and delays, ineffective marketing campaigns, missed or mishandled sales opportunities, and compliance troubles. When employees must constantly question the validity of data and fix errors, productivity falls and costs rise. Over time, lack of reliable information can erode trust with customers, vendors, lenders and investors — all while lowering staff morale.

And now that many businesses widely use artificial intelligence (AI), there’s a cybersecurity angle. Among the many threats currently evolving is “data poisoning.” It occurs when bad actors, either internal or external, intentionally corrupt the information that an AI model relies on to operate. The objective is to manipulate the model’s behavior by introducing malicious, biased or inaccurate data during the “training phase.” Without strong data hygiene safeguards in place, these cyberattacks can compromise an AI system and ruin the reputation of the company using it.

Best practices

The good news is your business can significantly improve its data hygiene by adhering to certain best practices. Begin by setting clear standards for data entry. Employees should input information the same way every time, according to a well-defined process. Train staff members on the definition and importance of data hygiene. Ask them to routinely verify critical details related to financial transactions, such as customer contact info and vendor payment instructions.

From a broader perspective, set up regular audits of your databases to remove duplicate items, catch and correct inaccuracies, and archive outdated information. Consider investing in software tools that flag inconsistencies and prompt updates to key systems.

Above all, assign the responsibility to promote and oversee data hygiene to someone within your company. If you run a small business, you may have to do it. But many companies assign this job duty to the chief data officer or data quality manager.

Financial performance benefits

Robust data hygiene can translate directly to stronger financial performance. As the accuracy and reliability of information are continuously improved, your company will be able to generate more dependable financial records and reports. In turn, you’ll have the tools to make better-informed decisions about budgeting, cash flow management and strategic planning. Clean data benefits sales and marketing as well. For example, it helps you target the right audience, reducing wasted efforts and improving return on investment.

Of course, there are costs associated with data hygiene. You’ll likely have to spend money on software, training, and potentially engaging consultants to audit your systems and upgrade your technological infrastructure. However, handled carefully, such costs will probably be far less than those associated with lost sales, compliance penalties and reputational damage.

More important than ever

Data hygiene may not be top of mind for business owners dealing with hectic schedules and complex operational challenges. However, the quality and quantity of information are critical to running a competitive company in today’s fast-paced, data-driven economy. FMD can help you and your leadership team understand the cost implications of data hygiene and budget for it appropriately.


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IRS Releases Guidance on Changes to R&E Expensing

Among its numerous tax provisions, the One Big Beautiful Bill Act (OBBBA) reinstated immediate deductions for research and experimental (R&E) expenditures under Internal Revenue Code Section 174, beginning in 2025. The IRS has recently issued transitional guidance (Revenue Procedure 2025-28) on how this change will be implemented.

The guidance addresses several critical issues. Here’s what businesses of all sizes need to know.

The reinstatement

R&E expenditures generally refer to research and development costs in the experimental or laboratory sense. They include costs related to activities intended to discover information that would eliminate uncertainty about the development or improvement of a product.

Since 2022, the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) has required businesses to amortize domestic R&E costs over five years, with foreign costs amortized over 15 years. The OBBBA permanently reinstates the pre-TCJA treatment of domestic R&E costs, allowing their deduction for expenses incurred or paid in tax years beginning after 2024.

The OBBBA also permits small businesses that satisfy a gross receipts test to claim the R&E deduction retroactively to 2022. (For 2025, average annual gross receipts for the previous three years must be $31 million or less.) And any business that incurred domestic R&E expenses in 2022 through 2024 may elect to accelerate the remaining deductions for those expenditures over either a one- or two-year period.

The immediate deduction of qualified R&E expenses isn’t mandatory. Depending on a variety of factors, in some situations, claiming it may not be advisable. Taxpayers generally can instead elect to capitalize and amortize such expenses paid in a tax year after 2024 over at least 60 months. The election must be made by the due date, with extensions, of the original tax return for the first tax year to which the election applies. For 2025, a taxpayer that makes an accounting method change to capitalize and amortize R&E expenses will be deemed to have made the election.

Retroactive deductions for small businesses

As noted, eligible small businesses can elect to treat the changes to Sec. 174 as if they took effect for tax years beginning after 2021, rather than after 2024. How to do this depends in part on whether the taxpayer has already filed a 2024 tax return.

If the taxpayer filed a 2024 return before August 28, 2025, an automatic extension to supersede that return to include the new guidance is available. However, the taxpayer must file that replacement return by the extended deadline (typically September 15 or October 15). Alternatively, the taxpayer can file an amended 2024 return, following one of the two options discussed below.

If the taxpayer didn’t file a 2024 return by August 28, the taxpayer can file by the applicable extended deadline and either:

  1. Elect to expense eligible R&E expenses under the new guidance, which would also require filing amended returns for 2022 and 2023, or

  2. Do an automatic method of accounting change and a “true-up” adjustment on the 2024 return for the 2022 and 2023 R&E expenses.

Elections must be made by the earlier of July 6, 2026, or the applicable deadline for filing a claim for a credit or refund for the tax year (generally, three years from filing the return).

Accelerated deductions for all businesses

Businesses with unamortized domestic R&E expenses under the TCJA can elect to fully recover those remaining expenses on their 2025 income tax returns or over their 2025 and 2026 returns.

Notably, the IRS guidance states that taxpayers “may elect to amortize any remaining unamortized amount” of such expenses. This language suggests that the deduction will be considered an amortization expense. This is significant in light of changes the OBBBA made to the business interest expense deduction.

The business interest deduction generally is limited to 30% of the taxpayer’s adjusted taxable income (ATI). (Taxpayers that meet the same annual gross receipts test discussed earlier are exempt from the limitation.) Under the OBBBA, beginning in 2025, ATI for purposes of the interest deduction is calculated without deductions for depreciation, amortization or depletion. So amortization deductions are “added back,” potentially increasing the ATI and the allowable business interest deduction. If R&E expenses aren’t treated as an amortization deduction, they could reduce the allowable business interest deduction.

The interplay with the research credit

The Sec. 41 research tax credit is also available for certain research-related expenses, and you can’t claim both the credit and the deduction for the same expense. A tax deduction reduces the amount of income that’s taxed, while a tax credit reduces the actual tax you owe dollar-for-dollar, providing much more tax savings than a deduction of an equal amount. But the types of expenses that qualify for the credit are narrower than those that qualify for the deduction.

The OBBBA changes a TCJA provision so that the amount deducted or charged to a capital account for research expenses is reduced by the full amount of the research credit, as opposed to being subject to a more complex calculation that had been in effect under the TCJA. The amount that’s capitalized is reduced by the amount of the credit claimed. For example, suppose the allowed credit is $20,000. The capitalized amount for the year would be reduced by $20,000.

The OBBBA continues, however, to allow taxpayers to elect to take a reduced research credit, rather than reducing their R&E deduction. The OBBBA also allows certain small businesses (generally determined by the gross receipts test mentioned above) to make late elections to reduce their research credit — or to revoke prior elections to reduce the credit. The late elections generally are available for tax years for which the original return was filed before September 15, 2025, and must be made by the earlier of July 6, 2026, or the deadline for filing a claim for a credit or refund for the tax year, on an amended return or an administrative adjustment request (AAR).

Reduced uncertainty

The IRS guidance also provides automatic IRS consent to applications to change accounting methods for domestic R&E expenses under the TCJA, the OBBBA, the small business retroactive method and the recovery of unamortized method — reducing uncertainty. FMD can help address any questions you have about the tax treatment of R&E expenses.


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Intrafamily Loans Must be Handled with Care

Is one of your top estate planning goals to provide your family with financial security at the lowest tax cost? Strategies to consider include making gifts during your lifetime or bequests at death, or creating trusts and naming your loved ones as beneficiaries.

You could also make an intrafamily loan. This type of loan — where one family member lends money to another — can be an effective way to transfer wealth, provide financial support or assist with major purchases, such as a first home or a business startup. However, this strategy isn’t without drawbacks.

Why choose one?

A key benefit is flexibility. Families can often offer better loan terms than banks, such as lower interest rates, more forgiving repayment schedules and fewer fees. Intrafamily loans also keep money within the family rather than paying interest to outside lenders, which can help preserve family wealth. In addition, when properly structured, these loans can serve as a tax-efficient way to transfer money while still requiring accountability from the borrower.

From a tax perspective, intrafamily loans allow you to transfer wealth tax-free. Here’s how it works: When you make a loan to a family member, charge interest at the applicable federal rate (AFR). (Charging no interest or interest below the AFR can lead to unwelcome tax surprises.) To the extent that the borrower earns returns on the funds in excess of the interest payments on the loan (by investing them in a business opportunity, for example), the borrower pockets those earnings free of gift and estate tax.

Note that an intrafamily loan doesn’t enable the lender to avoid gift and estate tax on the loan principal itself. The outstanding balance is included in the lender’s taxable estate, even if the lender dies before the loan is paid off. In that case, either the borrower will be obligated to repay the loan to the estate, or, if the loan terms call for it to be forgiven on the lender’s death, that forgiveness will be treated as a taxable transfer.

Will the IRS treat it as a gift or loan?

To enjoy the benefits of an intrafamily loan, it’s critical to treat the transaction as a legitimate loan. Otherwise, the IRS may determine that it’s a disguised gift, which can trigger negative tax consequences (assuming you’re subject to gift and estate taxes). Generally, the IRS presumes intrafamily transactions are gifts. So, to ensure that a loan is treated as a loan, you must take steps to demonstrate that you and the borrower have a bona fide creditor-debtor relationship.

To decide whether a transfer of funds is a loan or a gift, the IRS and courts consider the “Miller” factors. A transfer is more likely to be treated as a loan if:

  • There was a promissory note or other evidence of indebtedness,

  • Interest was charged,

  • There was security or collateral,

  • There was a fixed maturity date,

  • A demand for repayment was made,

  • Actual repayment was made,

  • The transferee had the ability to repay,

  • The parties maintained records treating the transaction as a loan, and

  • The parties treated the transaction as a loan for federal tax purposes.

These factors aren’t exclusive. Additionally, the courts generally consider an actual expectation of repayment and intent to enforce the debt as crucial to determining whether a transfer constitutes a loan.

What are the drawbacks?

Although an intrafamily loan can be a helpful tool, families should carefully weigh the financial and emotional risks before proceeding. A significant risk is personal — mixing money with family relationships can create tension. If a borrower struggles to repay, the lender may feel taken advantage of, while the borrower may feel pressure or resentment.

If you’re considering making intrafamily loans, it’s important to observe the formalities associated with bona fide loans to ensure the desired tax treatment. Contact FMD for additional details.


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Occupational Fraud Still Affects Many Businesses

The more things change, the more they stay the same. This age-old saying applies to many things, and one of them is fraud perpetrated against businesses by their employees.

In fact, occupational fraud cost organizations about 5% of their revenue on average last year, according to the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners’ Occupational Fraud 2024: A Report to the Nations. Let’s review its three basic categories.

Misappropriating assets

The first category is asset misappropriation. It comprises theft or misuse of any business asset, but related schemes often involve cash. These types of scams are the most common type of occupational fraud, though they’re typically less costly than crimes committed under the other two categories.

One classic example is the “ghost” employee ploy, where a staff member with payroll access channels funds to a nonexistent worker. Naturally, those funds end up in the real employee’s pocket.

There are plenty of others. Asset misappropriation has long involved check tampering, whereby an employee steals, forges or alters company checks to reap ill-gotten financial rewards. Now that midsize and larger businesses rely more on electronic transactions, these companies are relatively less susceptible to check schemes. However, many small companies are still at risk.

If you run a cash-intensive business, be on the lookout for dishonest workers skimming funds before they’re recorded. And if your company maintains inventory or supplies, safeguard these carefully to avoid theft.

Engaging in corrupt activities

The second category of occupational fraud is corruption. Dishonest employees in positions of influence may commit crimes for personal gain and the company’s loss. These types of schemes are rarely simple and may go on for months — or even years — without anyone noticing.

For instance, a corrupt staffer may work with a vendor rep to inflate prices on the vendor’s goods and services. The two then split the difference when the business pays the bill. Collusion like this can hurt your company’s financial performance and business reputation. Leadership teams that fail to prevent such schemes risk losing the confidence and support of lenders and investors.

Don’t ignore the possibility of kickback schemes either. Here, a person of influence in the company uses a vendor or other provider, not because they’re the best choice, but because the employee involved gets a personal benefit. Examples might include cash, a valuable gift or free services.

Falsifying financial statements

The third category is financial statement fraud. In these schemes, perpetrators falsify financial statements to either hide poor performance or commit outright theft. On the upside, this category is generally the least prevalent of the three. The downside? It’s often the costliest — with such crimes costing companies many hundreds of thousands of dollars on average.

One example to watch out for is inflated revenue. A manager, perhaps angling for a promotion or fearful of termination, records sales that never actually occurred to make the business appear more profitable. On a similar tack, a dishonest employee may hide or delay recording legitimate expenses or debts to make financial results look stronger.

Fraudulent manipulation of financial statements can be particularly dangerous. These crimes are often sophisticated, hard to detect and damaging to a company’s reputation at the highest levels.

Common thread

As you can see, occupational fraud can take many forms. But the common thread is the financial and reputational damage to affected businesses. And the threat level is often higher for smaller companies because they may have fewer resources to fight back. Let FMD help you spot vulnerabilities in your operations, strengthen internal controls, and devise tailored fraud prevention and detection strategies.


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A Quiet Trust Has its Benefits, but an Incentive Trust may be a Better Option

When it comes to estate planning, one of the more nuanced tools available is a quiet trust (also known as a “silent” trust). Unlike a traditional trust, a quiet trust keeps beneficiaries — often children or young adults — in the dark about its existence or details until they reach a certain age or milestone.

Many states permit quiet trusts, but these trusts have both positives and negatives. Depending on the situation, an incentive trust may be a better way to achieve your goals.

The pros

One of the biggest benefits of using a quiet trust is that it helps preserve ambition and independence. If your heirs know too early about a significant inheritance, they may lose motivation to pursue educational goals or build a career. By keeping the details private, you give them the chance to grow independently.

Quiet trusts can also reduce family conflict during your lifetime, especially if distributions are unequal or come with specific conditions. In addition, secrecy offers protection from outside pressures — such as creditors, estranged spouses or opportunistic friends — and allows time for heirs to develop the maturity needed to manage wealth responsibly.

The cons

Quiet trusts aren’t without drawbacks. Some beneficiaries may feel resentful when they eventually discover that assets were withheld from them. This secrecy can also increase the risk of legal challenges once the trust is revealed.

By keeping heirs uninformed, you also may unintentionally deprive them of valuable opportunities. For example, they might forego graduate school because they don’t want to take on student loan debt that could take decades to pay back when, in fact, the trust would eventually allow them to pay off the loan more quickly. (Or current access to the money could allow them to avoid student loan debt altogether.) And because trustees must administer the trust without beneficiary input, their decisions could later be questioned, adding tension at an already difficult time.

Another option

The idea behind a quiet trust is to avoid disincentives to responsible behavior. But it’s not clear that such a trust will actually accomplish that goal. A different approach is to design a trust that provides incentives for responsible behavior.

For example, an incentive trust might condition distributions on behavior you wish to encourage, such as obtaining a college or graduate degree, maintaining gainful employment, or pursuing worthy volunteer activities. Or it could require getting treatment for alcohol or substance abuse and maintaining a sober lifestyle.

One drawback to setting specific goals is that it may penalize a beneficiary who chooses a different, but responsible, life choice — a stay-at-home parent, for example. To build some flexibility into the trust, you might establish general principles for distributing trust funds to beneficiaries who behave responsibly but give the trustee broad discretion to apply these principles on a case-by-case basis.

Finding the right balance

A quiet trust can be a powerful way to encourage independence and protect your heirs, but it requires careful planning. Many families find success in combining secrecy with a gradual disclosure strategy — sharing information at key milestones or leaving behind a written explanation to reduce confusion and conflict.

Every family is different, and the decision to use a quiet trust or an incentive trust should be based on your goals, values and relationships. FMD can help you weigh the pros and cons and structure your plan in a way that best protects your family and your legacy.


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Businesses Strive for Balance in Hybrid Work Models

If your business allows employees to perform their jobs under a hybrid work model, it’s not alone. Ever since the pandemic, many companies have sought to strike a balance between permitting some remote work while also requiring staff to come into the office (or another type of facility).

Data released this year shows that, by and large, businesses seem to have found a certain equilibrium regarding hybrid work. However, maintaining the right balance for your company will require a careful eye going forward.

Schedule control

Just this month, Gallup published survey results showing that, as of May 2025, 51% of remote-capable employees in the United States are working under a hybrid model. That’s a slight decrease from 55% in November 2024. Interestingly, during the same period, the percentage of fully remote workers rose 2% — but fully on-site employees also increased by the same percentage.

One particularly important issue brought up by the research is how much control a business asserts over its hybrid workers’ schedules. The data showed that the percentage of employees who describe their schedules as “entirely up to me” fell from 37% in 2024 to 34% this year.

How do most companies establish hybrid schedules? Gallup found that three main groups typically make the call:

  1. Employees themselves,

  2. Managers or teams, or

  3. Leadership.

The second option generally comes out on top, according to Gallup. More specifically, 91% of hybrid workers whose teams established their schedules described their employers’ policies as “fair.” That’s the same rate as employees who determined their own schedules. When leadership mandated schedules, the fairness rate reported by hybrid workers fell to only 73%.

Policy enforcement

Another recent report on hybrid work models is the 2025 Americas Office Occupier Sentiment Survey by commercial real estate services and investment consultancy CBRE. It polled companies across the United States, Canada and Latin America on topics that included “efforts to align workspaces with hybrid work models while meeting business objectives.”

Among the survey’s key findings is an uptick in the enforcement of hybrid work policies. In fact, 85% of responding businesses reported communicating an attendance policy to hybrid workers. What’s more:

  • 69% of respondents measured compliance with their policies (up from 45% in 2024), and

  • 37% of respondents took enforcement actions (up from 17% in 2024).

And those enforcement measures seem to be working. The survey found that 72% of respondents achieved their attendance goals in 2025 (up from 61% in 2024). Overall, the data indicates that employees averaged 2.9 days a week on-site, which is close to businesses’ reported expectations of 3.2 days on average.

Cost considerations

Along with determining and refining how you establish workers’ schedules and enforce your policies, you should carefully identify all the costs that accompany hybrid work. For example, even with fewer employees on-site, your business still needs to maintain office space.

Some companies are downsizing, while others are redesigning their layouts to accommodate shared desks and collaborative spaces. If you choose these alternatives, be aware of your lease commitments, maintenance and utility expenses, and renovation costs.

Supporting a hybrid workforce also requires secure and reliable technology. This typically includes video conferencing tools, cloud-based software, cybersecurity measures, and internet and networking systems. These expenses often extend to both office and home setups.

Beware of hidden costs, too. For instance, policy enforcement may cause your business to spend more on compliance-related technology, as well as training for HR staff and supervisors.

Clear and constant view

The surveys mentioned above, as well as other indicators, show that hybrid work is here to stay. Finding the optimal balance for your business depends on savvy scheduling, judicious policy enforcement, and a clear and constant view of the financial implications. FMD can help you assess all the expenses involved and align spending with productivity goals to ensure your hybrid model remains sustainable.


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Is a Custodial Account Right for Your Family?

If you’re considering opening an investment account for your minor child or grandchild to help him or her save for the future, a custodial account can be a useful option. Indeed, for many families, a custodial account strikes the right balance between gifting assets to a child and maintaining oversight until the child is legally an adult. It also has some benefits compared to a Trump Account, which the One Big Beautiful Bill Act will make available beginning in 2026.

What is a custodial account?

A custodial account is a financial account that an adult manages on behalf of a minor child until the child reaches the age of majority (typically 18 or 21, depending on the state). These accounts are often set up under the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act (UGMA) or the Uniform Transfers to Minors Act (UTMA), which provide a legal framework for transferring assets to minors without requiring a formal trust.

The adult custodian — often a parent or grandparent — has control over the account, but the assets legally belong to the child. Once the child comes of age, the account is transferred into his or her full control. Trump Accounts will be similar in that, generally, the child won’t be able to access the account funds until reaching age 18.

Custodial accounts can hold a wide range of assets, including cash, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and, in the case of UTMA accounts, even real estate or other property. Trump Accounts, on the other hand, will generally be limited to investing in exchange-traded funds or mutual funds that track the return of a qualified index and meet certain other requirements.

Custodial account funds can be used for any purpose and often are used to save for future expenses such as a first car or a down payment on a home. Trump Account funds also can be used for any purpose. Both types of accounts can be used to fund education expenses, but they don’t offer some of the tax benefits of education-specific savings options.

What are the pluses and minuses?

One of the most significant advantages of using a custodial account is its flexibility. Indeed, unlike some savings vehicles, such as Coverdell Education Savings Accounts (ESAs), anyone can contribute to a custodial account, regardless of their income level, and there are no contribution limits. (Trump Accounts will have annual contribution limits.)

Also, as noted earlier, there are no restrictions on how the money in custodial accounts or Trump Accounts is spent. In contrast, funds invested in ESAs and Section 529 education savings plans must be spent on qualified education expenses — withdrawals not used for qualified expenses may be partially subject to a 10% penalty. (Trump Account withdrawals could also be partially subject to a 10% penalty if taken before age 59½).

Contributions to custodial accounts can also save income taxes. A child’s unearned income up to $2,700 (for 2025) is usually taxed at low rates. (Income above that threshold is usually taxed at the parents’ marginal rate.)

On the downside, other savings vehicles can offer greater tax benefits. Although custodial accounts can reduce taxes, ESAs, Section 529 plans and Trump Accounts allow earnings to grow on a tax-deferred basis. Also, ESA and 529 plan withdrawals are tax-free provided they’re spent on qualified education expenses. There may also be financial aid implications, as the assets in a custodial account are treated less favorably than certain other assets.

Trump Accounts provide another potential benefit that custodial accounts don’t: U.S. citizens children born between Jan. 1, 2025, and Dec. 31, 2028, can potentially qualify for an initial $1,000 government-funded deposit to a Trump Account.

It’s important to be aware that there’s a loss of control involved with both custodial accounts and Trump Accounts. After the child reaches the age of majority (or age 18 for Trump Accounts), he or she gains full control over the assets and can use them as he or she sees fit. If you wish to retain control longer, you’re better off opening an ESA or a 529 plan or creating a trust.

Consider all your options

Custodial accounts can be a valuable tool to build your child’s financial foundation while teaching him or her about money management. Still, it’s important to weigh the tax implications, college planning considerations and your long-term goals before opening one. Depending on the situation, another type of account may better fit your goals. Contact FMD with questions.


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Evaluating Business Decisions using Breakeven Analysis

You shouldn’t rely on gut instinct when making major business decisions, such as launching a new product line, investing in new equipment or changing your pricing structure. Projecting the financial implications of your decision (or among competing alternatives) can help you determine the right course of action — and potentially persuade investors or lenders to finance your plans. One intuitive tool to consider for these applications is breakeven analysis.

What’s the breakeven point?

The breakeven point is simply the sales volume at which revenue equals total costs. Any additional sales above the breakeven point will result in a profit. To calculate your company’s breakeven point, first categorize all costs as either fixed (such as rent and administrative payroll) or variable (such as materials and direct labor).

Next, calculate the contribution margin per unit by subtracting variable costs per unit from the price per unit. Companies that sell multiple products or offer services typically estimate variable costs as a percentage of sales. For example, if a company’s variable costs run about 40% of annual revenue, its average contribution margin would be 60%.

Finally, add up fixed costs and divide by the unit (or percentage) contribution margin. In the previous example, if fixed costs were $600,000, the breakeven sales volume would be $1 million ($600,000 ÷ 60%). For each $1 in sales over $1 million, the hypothetical company would earn 60 cents.

When computing the breakeven point from an accounting standpoint, depreciation is normally included as a fixed expense, but taxes and interest usually are excluded. Fixed costs should also include all normal operating expenses (such as payroll and maintenance). The more items included in fixed costs, the more realistic the estimate will be.

How might you apply this metric?

To illustrate how breakeven analysis works: Suppose Joe owns a successful standalone coffee shop. He’s considering opening a second location in a nearby town. He’s familiar with the local market and the ins and outs of running a successful small retail business. But Joe likes to do his homework, so he collects the following cost data for opening a second location:

  • $10,000 of monthly fixed costs (including rent, utilities, insurance, advertising and the manager’s salary), and

  • $1.50 of variable costs per cup (including ingredients, paper products and barista wages).

If the new store plans to sell coffee for $4 per cup, what’s the monthly breakeven point? The estimated contribution margin would be $2.50 per cup ($4 − $1.50). So, the store’s monthly breakeven point would be 4,000 cups ($10,000 ÷ $2.50). Assuming an average of 30 days per month, the store would need to sell approximately 134 cups each day just to cover its operating costs. If Joe’s original store sells an average of 200 cups per day, this gives him a useful benchmark, though market dynamics may differ between locations. If Joe forecasts daily sales for the new store of 180 cups, it leaves a daily safety margin of 46 cups, which equates to roughly $115 in daily profits (46 × $2.50).

Joe can take this analysis further. For example, he knows there’s already another boutique coffee shop near the prospective location, so he’s considering lowering the price per cup to $3.75. Doing so would reduce his contribution margin to $2.25, causing his breakeven point to jump to 4,445 cups per month (about 148 cups per day). Assuming forecasted sales of 180 cups per day, the reduced price would lower the daily safety margin to 32 cups, which equates to about $72 in daily profits (32 × $2.25).

Joe might also consider other strategies to reduce his breakeven point and increase profits. For instance, he could negotiate with the landlord to reduce his monthly rent or find a supplier with less expensive cups and napkins. Joe could plug these changes into his breakeven model to see how sensitive profits are to cost changes.

If Joe opens the new store, he can monitor actual sales against his forecast to see if the store is on track. If not, he might need to consider changes, such as increasing the advertising budget or revising his prices. Then he can enter the revised inputs into his breakeven model. He could also revise his breakeven model based on actual costs incurred after the store opens.

We can help

Breakeven analysis is often more complex than this hypothetical example shows. However, it can be a valuable addition to your financial toolkit. Besides assisting with expansion planning, breakeven analysis can help you evaluate spending habits, set realistic sales goals and prices, and judge whether projected sales will sustain your business during an economic downturn. Contact FMD to learn how to analyze breakeven for your organization and leverage the data to make informed decisions about your business’s long-term financial stability.


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5 Ways Your Business Can Build a Stronger Annual Budget

As summer gives way to fall, many businesses begin their budget-setting processes for the upcoming year. This annual rite of passage can be stressful, contentious and, perhaps worst of all, disappointing if your budgets often fail to achieve their objectives.

The good news is that there are many ways to enhance your company’s budgeting process and improve the likelihood that you’ll get good results. Here are five to consider.

1. Optimize data

It’s not uncommon for a business to create its budget by applying an across-the-board percentage increase to the previous year’s actual results. However, this approach may be too simplistic in today’s uncertain economy and ever-changing marketplace.

That’s not to say historical results aren’t a good starting point. But keep in mind that some costs are fixed rather than variable. And certain assets, such as equipment and employees, have capacity limitations. What troubles many companies is the presence of confusing or conflicting information, which eventually hampers their budget’s efficacy.

The solution is data optimization. This is the process of refining how data is collected, stored, managed and applied to maximize efficiency and value. In the context of budgeting, data optimization involves steps such as removing duplicate entries, correcting errors and applying a standard format to strengthen accuracy.

2. Involve the entire organization

Traditionally, many businesses rely only on their accounting departments to devise a budget. However, this approach often “puts blinders” on a company, leaving it at a disadvantage. When creating your budget, seek input from the entire organization.

For example, your sales department may be in the best position to help you accurately estimate future revenue. Meanwhile, your operations or production managers can offer insights into potential staffing adjustments and expenses related to equipment maintenance or replacement.

Soliciting broad participation also gives departments a greater sense of involvement in the budgeting process. In turn, this can help enhance employee engagement and improve your odds of achieving budgeted results.

3. “Sell” it to staff

Good budgets encourage the hard work needed to grow revenue and cut costs. But targets must be attainable. Employees will likely become discouraged if they view a budget as unattainable or out of touch with current market trends — or reality in general. After years of failed attempts to meet budgets, workers may start to ignore them altogether.

If this has been an issue for your business, you might need to “sell” your budget to staff. Doing so centers on devising and executing a communication strategy that clearly explains each budget’s rationale and objectives. Tying annual bonuses to achieving specific targets may encourage greater buy-in as well.

4. Monitor cash flow

Even if expected revenue is forecast to cover expenses for the year, unexpected fluctuations in production costs can lead to temporary cash shortages. Slow-paying customers and uncollectible accounts may also inhibit cash flow.

The truth is, any unanticipated cash shortfall can seriously derail your budget. So, once yours is set, monitor all your cash flows weekly or monthly. Then, create a plan for managing any major shortfalls that may occur.

For instance, you and other owners may need to contribute extra capital. Or you might need to apply for a line of credit at your current bank or another one. Additionally, you might consider:

  • Buying materials on consignment,

  • Delaying payments to vendors (as long as you don’t incur penalties), or

  • Tightening terms with slow-paying customers.

Bottom line: Don’t put a budget in place and expect it to run on autopilot. Keep a close eye on cash flow and make adjustments as necessary.

5. Get an objective opinion

Many companies’ budgets suffer from the old “because we’ve always done it that way” mentality. For a fresh perspective and an objective opinion on your budgeting process, please keep our firm in mind. FMD can help your business strengthen its budget by showing you how to better analyze historical financial data, forecast future performance, identify cost-saving opportunities, integrate tax planning and more.


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FAQs About the Going Concern Assessment

The going concern assumption underlies financial reporting under U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) unless management has plans to liquidate. If a going concern issue is identified but not adequately disclosed, the omission might be considered “pervasive” because it can affect users’ understanding of the financial statements as a whole. So it’s critical to get it right. Here are answers to common questions about this assumption to help evaluate your company’s ability to continue operating in the future.

Who’s responsible for the going concern assessment?

Management is responsible for making the going concern assessment and providing related footnote disclosures. Essentially, your management team must determine whether there are conditions or events — either from within the company or external factors — that raise substantial doubt about your company’s ability to continue as a going concern within 12 months after the date that the financial statements:

  • Will be issued, or

  • Will be available to be issued (to prevent auditors from holding financial statements for several months after year end to see if the company survives).

Then you must provide appropriate documentation to prove to external auditors that management’s assessment is reasonable and complete.

What are the signs of “substantial” doubt?

Substantial doubt exists when relevant conditions and events, considered in the aggregate, indicate that it’s probable that the company won’t be able to meet its current obligations as they become due. Examples of adverse conditions or events that might cause management to doubt the going concern assumption include:

  • Recurring operating losses,

  • Working capital deficiencies,

  • Loan defaults,

  • Asset disposals, and

  • Loss of a key person, franchise, customer or supplier.

If management identifies a going concern issue, they should consider whether any mitigating plans will alleviate the substantial doubt. Examples include plans to raise equity, borrow money, restructure debt, cut costs, or dispose of an asset or business line.

What role does your auditor play?

The Auditing Standards Board’s Statement on Auditing Standards (SAS) No. 132, The Auditor’s Consideration of an Entity’s Ability to Continue as a Going Concern, is intended to promote consistency between the auditing standards and accounting guidance under U.S. GAAP. The current auditing standard requires auditors to obtain sufficient audit evidence regarding management’s use of the going concern basis of accounting in the preparation of the financial statements. The standard also calls for auditors to conclude, based on their professional judgment, on the appropriateness of management’s assessment.

Audit procedure must evaluate whether management’s assessment:

  • Covers a period of at least 12 months after the financial statements are issued or available to be issued,

  • Is consistent with other information obtained during audit procedures, and

  • Considers relevant subsequent events that happen after the end of the accounting period.

During fieldwork, auditors assess management’s forecasts, assumptions and mitigation plans and arrive at an independent going concern assessment.

The evaluation of whether there’s substantial doubt about a company’s ability to continue as a going concern can be performed only on a complete set of financial statements at an enterprise level. So, the going concern auditing standard doesn’t apply to audits of single financial statements, such as balance sheets and specific elements, accounts or items of a financial statement.

How are going concern issues reported in audited financial statements?

The audit team also reviews the reasonableness of management’s disclosures. When a going concern issue exists and the disclosure is adequate, the auditor can issue an unmodified opinion. However, it will typically include an emphasis-of-matter paragraph that explains the nature of the going concern issue.

Conversely, if management fails to provide a going concern disclosure or the disclosure is inadequate or incomplete, the financial statements won’t conform with GAAP. As a result, the auditor will either issue 1) a qualified opinion if the issue is material but not pervasive, or 2) an adverse opinion if it’s both material and pervasive.

Sometimes, the scope of an audit may be limited if management won’t provide sufficient support for its going concern conclusion or the auditor can’t gather enough evidence independently. This situation, if pervasive, can lead to a disclaimer of opinion — a major red flag to lenders and investors.

Auditors as gatekeepers

By independently evaluating management’s assessment, testing assumptions and insisting on clear disclosures, auditors safeguard stakeholders from being misled when substantial doubt exists. As you prepare for your next audit, be sure to carefully document your going concern assessment, anticipate auditor scrutiny, and be ready to communicate candidly about risks and mitigation strategies. Contact FMD for guidance on navigating these complex requirements in today’s uncertain economic environment. Our team of experienced CPAs is here to help.


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A Family Business Owner Needs Both an Estate Plan and a Succession Plan

For family business owners, an estate plan and a succession plan often work in tandem, ensuring that both personal and business affairs transition smoothly. Your estate plan can help ensure that your assets are distributed according to your wishes and provide contingencies in the event of your death or disability before retirement. Your succession plan can pave the way for a seamless transfer of leadership upon your retirement. Here’s how they work together.

Two types of succession

One reason transferring a family business is so challenging is the distinction between ownership and management succession. When a company is sold to a third party, ownership and management succession typically happen simultaneously. But in the family business context, there may be reasons to separate the two.

From an estate planning perspective, transferring assets to the younger generation as early as possible allows you to remove future appreciation from your estate, minimizing estate taxes. On the other hand, you may not be ready to hand over the reins of your business or you may feel that your children aren’t yet prepared to take over.

There are several strategies owners can use to transfer ownership without immediately giving up control, including:

  • Placing business interests in a trust, family limited partnership or other vehicle that allows the owner to transfer substantial ownership interests to the younger generation while retaining management control,

  • Transferring ownership to the next generation in the form of nonvoting stock, or

  • Establishing an employee stock ownership plan.

Another reason to separate ownership and management succession is to deal with family members who aren’t involved in the business. Providing heirs outside the business with nonvoting stock or other equity interests that don’t confer control can be an effective way to share the wealth while allowing those who work in the business to take over management.

Unique conflicts

One more unique challenge presented by family businesses is that the older and younger generations may have conflicting financial needs. Fortunately, there are strategies available to generate cash flow for the owner while minimizing the burden on the next generation. They include:

An installment sale of the business to children or other family members. This provides liquidity for the owners while easing the burden on the younger generation and improving the chance that the purchase can be funded by cash flows from the business. Plus, as long as the price and terms are comparable to arm’s length transactions between unrelated parties, the sale shouldn’t trigger gift or estate taxes.

A grantor retained annuity trust (GRAT). By transferring business interests to a GRAT, owners obtain a variety of gift and estate tax benefits (provided they survive the trust term) while enjoying a fixed income stream for a period of years. At the end of the term, the business is transferred to the owners’ children or other beneficiaries. GRATs are typically designed to be gift-tax-free.

Because each family business is different, it’s important to work with your estate planning advisor to identify appropriate strategies in line with your objectives and resources.

Cover all your bases

Ultimately, having both a succession plan and an estate plan in place is an act of foresight and care. These plans protect loved ones, preserve wealth and provide clarity in uncertain times. Just as important, they reduce the likelihood of conflicts among heirs or stakeholders, helping to ensure that what you’ve worked hard to build continues to thrive.

However, integrating a succession plan with your estate plan can be complex and arduous. Fortunately, you don’t have to go it alone. Contact FMD for assistance.


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Shining a Light on Your Business’s Brand

Your business’s brand is more than just a logo or tagline. It represents the culmination of everything you’ve accomplished to date, as well as a promise to uphold the reputation you’ve established.

But that doesn’t mean your brand has to remain static. In fact, it may need a refresh as your company grows, markets evolve and customer expectations change. The only way to know for sure is to occasionally shine a light on your brand to determine whether it’s still optimally visible to the people you want to reach.

Locate yourself

When reassessing your brand, first locate where your company stands today. Consider its strengths and how they’ve evolved over time — or very recently. Maybe you’ve pivoted over the last several years to address changing economic or market conditions. Look for strong suits such as:

  • Notable excellence in product or service design,

  • Exceptional customer service,

  • Providing superior value for your price points, and

  • Innovation in your industry.

You need to match your business’s mission, vision and strengths to the needs and wants of the market you serve — and express that through your brand. To that end, ask current customers what they like about doing business with you. And survey both customers and prospects about what they consider when making buying decisions.

Pinpoint your personality

If you look at any widely known brand, you’ll see a logo and broader branding effort that conveys a certain personality. Some companies want to appear creative and playful; others want to communicate stability and security.

What personality will draw customers to your business? You may think every company in your industry has the same target audience. If that’s true, you must come up with an edge that differentiates your business from its rivals.

Your company may have various points of contact with customers, such as business cards, print advertisements and catalogs, and your website’s home page and social media accounts. All play a role in your brand’s personality.

Review what your company does at each contact point, considering whether and how these efforts accurately and effectively represent the business’s core values and emphasize its strengths. Doing so will give you more insight into the best way to portray your personality through your brand.

Check up on the competition

Of course, competitors have brands all their own — and they’re after your target audience. So, in creating or refining your brand, you’ll need to identify their tactics and develop countermeasures.

To do so, engage in competitive intelligence. This simply means ethically and legally gathering information on their latest products or services, pricing and special offers, marketing and advertising methods, and social media activities.

In some cases, you may discover that a full rebranding campaign is necessary to differentiate your business from the competition. For example, let’s say a major player has entered your market and you’re worried about visibility, or perhaps your brand is blurring with another company’s.

Stand out

Branding is an ongoing process of reflecting on your company’s identity and refining how you present it to the world. By building on your strengths, expressing a clear and consistent personality, and keeping a close eye on competitors, your business can stand out in a crowded marketplace. Let FMD help you evaluate branding from a cost-planning perspective to ensure that any chosen strategy aligns with your budget and strategic goals.

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Receivables Rx: Key Metrics to Assess the Health of your Cash Flow

For many businesses, accounts receivable (AR) is one of the largest assets on the balance sheet. It represents the cash you’ve earned but haven’t yet collected. Efficient AR management is critical for maintaining healthy cash flow, reducing bad debt and fueling growth. But a key question often goes unasked: How do your company’s receivables compare to others in your industry? This is where benchmarking comes in.

Why benchmarking matters

Benchmarking is the process of comparing your company’s financial and operational metrics against those of peers in your industry. For receivables, benchmarking helps determine whether your collections practices, customer credit policies and cash management strategies align with competitors. The key is to use data from businesses that closely resemble your own in terms of size, customer base and industry segment.

Without context, an AR balance or ratio can be misleading. For example, collecting in 45 days might sound reasonable. However, if the industry average is 30 days, you’re financing your customers longer than your competitors are, potentially straining your liquidity. Benchmarking provides a reality check, highlighting areas where you may be lagging and where improvements could quickly boost cash flow.

3 diagnostic tools

There are three primary tools you can use to monitor how well your company manages receivables:

1. AR turnover ratio. This ratio is computed by dividing net credit sales by your average AR balance. The average balance equals the sum of your beginning and ending AR balances, divided by two. This ratio measures how many times, on average, receivables are collected during a period. A higher turnover suggests more efficient collections. When compared to industry data, it can reveal whether your business is converting receivables to cash as quickly as your peers.

2. DSO ratio. A more intuitive way to evaluate AR is to estimate the average days it takes to collect payment after a sale. The days’ sales outstanding (DSO) ratio equals the number of days in the period divided by the AR turnover ratio. For example, if your AR turns 10 times per year, your DSO ratio would be approximately 36.5 days (365 divided by 10). A lower DSO ratio generally means faster collections. If your DSO is higher than industry benchmarks, it could signal overly generous credit terms or collections inefficiencies.

3. AR aging report. This report categorizes receivables based on how long they’ve been outstanding. It breaks down the total balance into aging buckets, such as 0 to 30 days, 31 to 60 days, 61 to 90 days and over 90 days. Benchmarking your percentages in each bucket against industry norms helps identify whether overdue accounts are a common issue in your sector or a problem specific to your business’s collections practices.

The percentage of delinquent accounts (typically those over 90 days outstanding) is another critical number. You may decide to outsource these accounts to third-party collectors to eliminate the hassles of making collections calls and threatening legal actions to collect what you’re owed.

Fraud considerations

Although fraud in accounts receivable is uncommon relative to day-to-day operational challenges, when it does arise it most often involves lapping of customer payments, fictitious customer accounts, or the misclassification of personal expenses through the business. These schemes are not typically identified through standard AR benchmarking tools, but if irregularities are suspected, our forensic accounting team has the expertise and resources to conduct a thorough investigation and safeguard your organization.

Turning insights into action

Benchmarking isn’t just about spotting differences — it’s about acting on them. FMD can help evaluate your company’s AR management, including providing reliable industry-specific benchmarks, brainstorming practical strategies to shorten your collections cycle and investigating any suspicious trends. Contact us for more information.


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How will the Changes to the SALT Deduction Affect your Tax Planning?

The One Big Beautiful Bill Act (OBBBA) shifts the landscape for federal income tax deductions for state and local taxes (SALT), albeit temporarily. If you have high SALT expenses, the changes could significantly reduce your federal income tax liability. But it requires careful planning to maximize the benefits — and avoid potential traps that could increase your effective tax rate.

A little background

Less than a decade ago, eligible SALT expenses were generally 100% deductible on federal income tax returns if an individual itemized deductions. This provided substantial tax savings to many taxpayers in locations with higher income or property tax rates (or higher home values).

Beginning in 2018, the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) put a $10,000 limit on the deduction ($5,000 for married couples filing separately). This SALT cap was scheduled to expire after 2025.

What’s new?

Rather than letting the $10,000 cap expire or immediately making it permanent, Congress included a provision in the OBBBA that temporarily quadruples the limit. Beginning in 2025, taxpayers can deduct up to $40,000 ($20,000 for separate filers), with 1% increases each subsequent year. Then in 2030, the OBBBA reinstates the $10,000 cap.

While the higher limit is in place, it’s reduced for taxpayers with incomes above a certain level. The allowable deduction drops by 30% of the amount by which modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) exceeds a threshold amount. For 2025, the threshold is $500,000; when MAGI reaches $600,000, the previous $10,000 cap applies. (These amounts are halved for separate filers.) The MAGI threshold will also increase 1% each year through 2029.

Deductible SALT expenses include property taxes (for homes, vehicles and boats) and either income tax or sales tax, but not both. If you live in a state without income taxes or opt for the sales tax route for another reason, you don’t have to save all your receipts for the year and manually calculate your sales tax; you can use the IRS Sales Tax Deduction Calculator to determine the amount of sales tax you can claim. (It includes the ability to add actual sales tax paid on certain big-ticket items, such as a vehicle.) The increased SALT cap could lead to major tax savings compared with the $10,000 cap. For example, a single taxpayer in the 35% tax bracket with $40,000 in SALT expenses and MAGI below the threshold amount would save an additional $10,500 [35% × ($40,000 − $10,000)].

The calculation would be different if the taxpayer’s MAGI exceeded the threshold. Let’s say MAGI is $560,000, which is $60,000 over the 2025 threshold. The cap would be reduced by $18,000 (30% × $60,000), leaving a maximum SALT deduction of $22,000 ($40,000 − $18,000). Even reduced, that’s more than twice what would be permitted under the $10,000 cap.

The itemization decision

The SALT deduction is available only to taxpayers who itemize their deductions. The TCJA nearly doubled the standard deduction. As a result of that change and the $10,000 SALT cap, the number of taxpayers who itemize dropped substantially. And, under the OBBBA, the standard deduction is even higher — for 2025, it’s $15,750 for single and separate filers, $23,625 for heads of household filers, and $31,500 for joint filers.

But the higher SALT cap might make it worthwhile for some taxpayers who’ve been claiming the standard deduction post-TCJA to start itemizing again. Consider, for example, a taxpayer who pays high state income tax. If that amount combined with other itemized deductions (generally, certain medical and dental expenses, home mortgage interest, qualified casualty and theft losses, and charitable contributions) exceeds the applicable standard deduction, the taxpayer will save more tax by itemizing.

Beware the “SALT torpedo”

Taxpayers whose MAGI falls between $500,000 and $600,000 and who have large SALT expenses should be aware of what some are calling the “SALT torpedo.” As your income climbs into this range, you don’t just add income. You also lose part of the SALT deduction, increasing your taxable income further.

Let’s say your MAGI is $600,000, you have $40,000 in SALT expenses and you have $35,000 in other itemized deductions. The $100,000 increase in income from $500,000 actually raises your taxable income by $130,000:

 MAGI  $500,000  $600,000
 SALT deduction  $40,000  $10,000
 Other itemized deductions  $35,000  $35,000
 Total itemized deductions  $75,000  $45,000
 Taxable income  $425,000  $555,000

At a marginal tax rate of 35%, you’ll pay $45,500 (35% × $130,000) in additional taxes, for an effective tax rate of 45.5%.

In this scenario, even with your SALT deduction reduced to $10,000, you’d benefit from itemizing. But if your $10,000 SALT deduction plus your other itemized deductions didn’t exceed your standard deduction, the standard deduction would save you more tax.

Tax planning tips

Your MAGI plays a large role in the amount of your SALT deduction. If it’s nearing the threshold that would reduce your deduction or already over it, you can take steps to stay out of the danger zone. For example, you could make or increase (up to applicable limits) pre-tax 401(k) plan and Health Savings Account contributions to reduce your MAGI. If you’re self-employed, you may be able to set up or increase contributions to a retirement plan that allows you to make even larger contributions than you could as an employee, which also would reduce your MAGI.

Likewise, you want to avoid moves that increase your MAGI, like Roth IRA conversions, nonrequired traditional retirement plan distributions and asset sales that result in large capital gains. Bonuses, deferred compensation and equity compensation could push you over the MAGI threshold, too. Exchange-traded funds may be preferable to mutual funds because they don’t make annual distributions.

At the same time, because the higher cap is temporary, you may want to try to maximize the SALT deduction every year it’s available. If your SALT expenses are less than $40,000 and your MAGI is below the reduction threshold for 2025, for example, you might pre-pay your 2026 property tax bill this year. (This assumes the amount has been assessed — you can’t pre-pay based only on your estimate.)

Uncertainty over PTETs

In response to the TCJA’s $10,000 SALT cap, 36 states enacted pass-through entity tax (PTET) laws to help the owners of pass-through entities, who tend to pay greater amounts of state income tax. The laws vary but typically allow these businesses to pay state income tax at the entity level, where an unlimited amount can be deducted as a business expense, rather than at the owner level, where a deduction would be limited by the SALT cap.

The OBBBA preserves these PTET workarounds, and PTET elections may remain worthwhile for some pass-through entities. An election could reduce an owner’s share of self-employment income or allow an owner to take the standard deduction.

Bear in mind, though, that some states’ PTET laws are scheduled to expire after 2025, when the TCJA’s $10,000 cap was set to expire absent congressional action. There’s no guarantee these states will renew their PTETs in their current form, or at all.

SALT deduction and the AMT

It’s worth noting that SALT expenses aren’t deductible for purposes of the alternative minimum tax (AMT). A hefty SALT deduction could have the unintended effect of triggering the AMT, particularly after 2025.

Individual taxpayers are required to calculate their tax liability under both the regular federal income tax and the AMT and pay the higher amount. Your AMT liability generally is calculated by adding back about two dozen “preference and adjustment items” to your regular taxable income, including the SALT deduction.

The TCJA increased the AMT exemption amounts, as well as the income levels for the phaseout of the exemptions. For 2025, the exemption amount for singles and heads of households is $88,100; it begins to phase out when AMT income reaches $626,350. For joint filers for 2025, the exemption amount is $137,000 and begins to phase out at $1,252,700 of AMT income.

The OBBBA makes these higher exemptions permanent, but for joint filers it sets the phaseout threshold back to its lower 2018 level beginning in 2026 — $1 million, adjusted annually for inflation going forward. (It doesn’t call for this change for other filers, which might be a drafting error. A technical correction could be released that would also return the phaseout thresholds to 2018 levels for other filers.)

The OBBBA also doubles the rate at which the exemptions phase out. These changes could make high-income taxpayers more vulnerable to the AMT, especially if they have large SALT deductions.

Navigating new ground

The OBBBA’s changes to the SALT deduction cap, and other individual tax provisions, may require you to revise your tax planning. FMD can help you chart the best course to minimize your tax liability.

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Estate Planning Leny Balute Estate Planning Leny Balute

If You’re Asked to be an Executor, Be Sure You’re Up to the Task

Make no mistake, serving as an executor (or a “personal representative” in some states) is an honor. But the title also includes significant responsibilities. So if a family member or a close friend asks you to be the executor of his or her estate, think about your answer before agreeing to the request. Let’s take a closer look at an executor’s tasks.

First steps

In a nutshell, an executor handles all jobs required to settle the deceased’s estate. The first task is to obtain certified copies of the death certificate, which are needed to notify financial institutions where the deceased had accounts. Typically, the funeral home or other organization that handled the deceased’s remains can provide them. It’s not unusual to need a dozen or more copies.

An executor must also locate and read the will, if one exists. An attorney who specializes in estate planning can advise you on the terms of the will and the laws that apply. If the deceased had a trust, additional responsibilities may be involved.

Depending on local law, you may also need to file the will in probate court, even if probate proceedings aren’t necessary. Probate, or the legal process for administering an estate, is more common with larger, more complex estates. If the deceased had minor or dependent adult children, they may need to be connected with their guardians.

A clear, logical trail of the actions taken can show that the decisions you made as executor were prudent and in the interest of the estate. This can be critical if a beneficiary contests the estate’s administration.

Take inventory of the assets

Ideally, the deceased will have created a list of his or her assets. If not, some digging may be required. For instance, reviewing the deceased’s checkbook register or bank account statements may reveal regular deposits to a retirement account or life insurance premium payments. Then you’ll need to find out the value of these assets.

If the deceased received government benefits, such as Social Security, notify the agency as soon as possible. You may need to have fine jewelry and similar assets appraised. And you’ll need to maintain insurance on some assets while they remain in the estate, such as vehicles and real estate.

File a tax return, settle debts and distribute assets to beneficiaries

The deceased’s taxes and debts are typically paid before assets are distributed to the heirs. These might include outstanding tax obligations, funeral expenses, ongoing mortgage and utility payments, and credit card bills.

You may need to file an income tax return for the year of the deceased’s death, and check that the deceased’s other tax filings are up to date. If he or she had been sick, it’s possible that some tax obligations were neglected. Estates valued at $13.99 million or less (for 2025) generally don’t need to file estate tax returns.

You should be able to open a bank account in the name of the estate to make any payments. If you’ll need to delay payments while you sort out the deceased’s assets and expenses, let creditors know as soon as possible.

Keep beneficiaries and heirs apprised of the status of the will. After the deceased’s bills and taxes have been paid, you typically can begin distributing assets according to the terms of the will. However, some states require court approval before you take this step.

Close the estate

Your final task is to close the estate. This typically occurs after debts and taxes have been paid and all remaining assets have been distributed. Some states require a court action or agreement from the estate’s beneficiaries before the estate can be closed and the executor’s responsibilities terminated.

Be aware that completing the executor’s jobs can take a year or more, depending on the complexity of the estate. Moreover, in carrying out these duties, the executor acts as a fiduciary for the estate and can be liable for improperly spending estate assets or failing to protect them. Contact FMD for additional information regarding the duties of an executor.


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Business Insights Leny Balute Business Insights Leny Balute

How Businesses Can Fund a Buy-Sell Agreement

Businesses with more than one owner benefit from having multiple viewpoints and varying skill sets. However, they also face serious risks of uncertainty and conflict if one of the owners suddenly departs or undergoes a major life change. A carefully crafted buy-sell agreement can guard against these risks — if it’s securely funded.

Transfer guidelines

A “buy-sell” (as it’s often called) is a legally enforceable contract among a company’s owners that sets guidelines for transferring ownership interests. It gives the remaining owners or the business itself the right — or, in some cases, the responsibility — to buy an exiting owner’s interest if a “triggering event” occurs. Such events may include an owner’s death, disability, divorce, retirement, voluntary departure, and loss of professional license or certification.

Essentially, the buy-sell creates a market for a withdrawing owner’s interest. It also defines how the price of an ownership interest will be determined, including identifying a valuation method and standard of value. By outlining when and to whom interests can be sold — and for how much — the agreement ultimately helps prevent conflicts among remaining owners or with the withdrawing owner’s family.

Popular choice

When a triggering event occurs, a substantial amount of money is typically needed to buy the departing owner’s interests. So, it’s critical to properly fund a buy-sell.

One popular choice is life insurance. Although such coverage might seem useful only to provide liquidity in the event of an owner’s death, it’s not limited to such situations.

The right policy, sometimes combined with riders or other types of coverage, can help ensure that departing owners or their beneficiaries efficiently receive the agreed-upon price for ownership interests following eligible triggering events. Meanwhile, it can ease the strain on the company’s cash flow and reduce the likelihood that the business will have to sell assets to fund an ownership interest buyout.

Various structures

Buy-sells can be structured to use life insurance in various ways. One option is a cross-purchase agreement, where each owner takes out a policy on each of the other owners.

For example, let’s say you buy coverage for your business partner. If that individual dies, triggering the buy-sell, you’ll collect the death benefit and use it to buy the ownership interest from your partner’s estate.

Assuming it’s large enough, the policy should guarantee you’ll have the funding to fulfill your obligations under the agreement. Other benefits include:

  • The insurance proceeds won’t be taxable as long as you plan properly, and

  • Your tax basis in the newly acquired interests will equal the purchase price.

On the downside, a cross-purchase agreement can be cumbersome if there are more than a few owners because of the number of policies required. It can also be unfair if there’s a significant disparity in owners’ ages or health, causing the policy premiums to vary substantially.

One alternative is establishing a trust or separate partnership to buy a policy on each owner. If an owner dies, the trust or partnership collects the death benefits on behalf of the remaining owners and pays each one’s share of the ownership interest buyout.

Another option is a redemption agreement. Under this approach, the business — not the individual owners — buys a policy on each owner’s life. The company holds the insurance and receives the proceeds following a qualifying triggering event, which it then uses to buy a departing owner’s interest.

A disadvantage of a redemption agreement is that the remaining owners won’t receive a step-up in basis when the company buys the departing owner’s interest. This can result in higher capital gains taxes.

Additionally, in the 2024 case of Connelly v. United States, the U.S. Supreme Court held that the value of corporate-owned life insurance used to meet a redemption agreement should be included in the value of a deceased owner’s business interest for federal estate tax purposes. And that doesn’t include any offsetting reduction for the company’s obligation to redeem the deceased owner’s interest.

The ruling may have adverse consequences for estates subject to the federal estate tax. Under current law, the unified federal estate and gift tax exemption is $13.99 million for 2025 and $15 million for 2026.

Bottom line

The bottom line is, if not properly funded, a buy-sell agreement won’t likely benefit anyone. Work with your attorney to create and occasionally review yours. Meanwhile, FMD can help you choose an optimal funding strategy and advise you on the tax implications.


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